Mom of the Month - Cecilia.png

Mom of the Month: Cecilia Mebius

Cecilia relocated to the area from overseas and found our village! She's happy to have mom friends who share her passion for fitness and fun, and meeting little buddies for her cutie Hugo. We're thankful to have such an inspiring and adventurous mom in our ranks!

Where are you originally from?

Gothenburg, Sweden

When did you join FIT4MOM?

June 2019

What classes do you attend?

Stroller Strides in Kirkland abd Bothell, Run Club, and I did Strides 360 in the summer.

Who is/are your workout buddy(ies) and their age(s)?

Hugo, 11 months

What is your favorite thing about FIT4MOM?

When we moved to the USA from Sweden this past summer, I looked up several mom groups, but FIT4MOM is the only one that I continue going to and where I have found like-minded moms- we do not only have motherhood in common but also the passion for fitness and well being. But best of all, I get exercise at the same time Hugo has fun with his little friends.

What is your current job? Or what did you do before staying at home (if you don’t currently work outside the home)?

I am a computer engineer and work as Technical Program Manager, but currently I am on maternity leave until I get my American work permit.

Share your thoughts on the concept of “it takes a village” – is it important for moms to join a village?

YES, when you have kids, suddenly you want/need family and friends even closer than before. Me and my husband chose to move away from all that, to start a life where we did not know one single person, in a different part of the world.

This group has really helped me to overcome cultural differences (yes there are a few) but also gave me a community with inspiring women that I am happy to call friends. I also get support to find answers to questions like:

How do I find a doctor if baby gets sick? What diapers to use? What can I feed my kid for lunch? Not to mention all the american kid songs I've learned!

What is your favorite beverage?

That would be wine. ️

What is your favorite dessert?

Gino- Baked bananas, kiwi, raspberries and strawberries with melted white chocolate. Served with vanilla ice cream.

You are given 4 hours of FREE babysitting. What would you do?

I just had that!!!

Me and my best girlfriend went to an adventure water park, and rode the water slides like we were 10 years old! Haha we had a blast!

What is your ultimate child-free vacation destination?

New York or any other fun city. Or maybe go for a challenging backcountry skiing trip that would be too tough for Hugo.

How has becoming a mother changed you?

I am a project manager by heart, but I have learned that with kids, not everything goes according to plan- there needs to be room for changes. I have also learned that a lot of things are possible to do with kids (especially if people tell me that it is impossible), but it is OK if we don't get all the way!

I am happiest when...

I get to go hiking with my husband and Hugo on a beautiful mountain.